United States. Live answering and virtual receptionists
Which providers are a true pay per call answering service?
The phrase is searched far more than it is sold. We read the published pricing pages of seven US answering services on 15 August 2026 and found one that prices a call as a call; the rest meter minutes, on three different rounding rules, and two decline to publish a usable price at all. That matters because the two models cross over at a call length you can calculate, and picking the wrong side of it is the difference between a fair bill and a surprising one.
2.4x
spread between the cheapest and dearest published per minute rate, $1.09 against $2.60
About a third
extra that rounding up to 30 seconds adds to a 45 second call
| Option | ||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Smith.ai Anyone who wants one predictable price per call, however long the call runs | The call. The only provider here that prices a call as a call: a 40 second call and a 12 minute call cost the same, which is the whole point of the model and the reason the phrase 'pay per call' exists. | Starter, $300 a month for 30 calls, which is $10.00 a call if you use the allowance exactly. Basic is $810 for 90 calls and Pro is $2,100 for 300 calls; an Enterprise tier is quoted rather than published. | $11.50 a call over 30 on Starter, $10.50 over 90 on Basic, $8.50 over 300 on Pro. The rate falls as the plan rises, so the overage is cheaper on a bigger plan than the included call is on a smaller one. | Not applicable. Nothing is metered, so there is no rounding rule to read and no incentive to keep a call short. | States no overseas agents. | No setup fees and month to month service with no long term contract. A 30 day money back guarantee refunds up to $1,000. Committing to 12 months takes 10% off. |
| Specialty Answering Service Short calls, because it meters to the second and does not round | The minute, metered in one second increments. | Economy, $44 a month with no minutes included, then $1.54 a minute. The 100 Minute plan is $159 and the 220 Minute plan is $269; the ladder runs to 10,000 minutes at $10,599. | $1.54 a minute on Economy falling to $1.09 at 10,000 minutes. That $1.09 is the cheapest published per minute rate in this table. | One second. On a 45 second call that is 0.75 of a minute billed, not a whole one. | States USA based operators, 300 or more staff. | No setup fees and no contract. A 14 day free trial with no credit card. Sub accounts are $10 a month each, IVR and voicemail $0.15 a minute and patching $0.10 a minute, all outside the headline rate. |
| Ambs Call Center Steady mid volume, if you can live with rounding up to the half minute | The minute, calculated in 30 second increments and rounded up. | 100 minutes for $149 a month. Then 250 minutes $330, 500 minutes $600, 1,000 minutes $1,195 and 2,500 or more $2,945. A separate AI receptionist ladder starts at $19 a month. | $1.29 a minute at 100 minutes, easing to $1.20 at 2,500. The band is narrow, so the plan you pick matters more here than the overage rate does. | 30 seconds, rounded up. A 45 second call bills as a full minute, so it costs a third more than the same call metered to the second would. | States 100% U.S. based agents, working from Jackson, Michigan and Tampa, Florida. | An $85 one time set up fee, the only published setup charge in this table. States no hidden costs beyond it. |
| AnswerFirst Unpredictable volume, because there is no allowance to under use or overrun | The minute, on what it calls true one second billing with no rounding up. | Not published. The page states plainly that it is hard to show pricing online because the model is usage based, and sends you to sales for a quote. A base monthly fee exists but its amount is not on the page. | $1.60 to $1.95 a minute based on your usage. A published range rather than a rate card, so the number you get is the one you negotiate. | One second, with no rounding up. | States U.S. based representatives. | No minimum usage and no commitment to minute plans, no overage fees and no contract, cancel at any time without penalty. One forwarding number included, additional numbers $3 a month. |
| PATLive Buyers who want a named allowance and a rate card they can read before talking to anyone | The minute of call time. The published increment is not stated. | BASIC, $75 a month pay as you go at $2.60 a minute. Then STARTER $250 for 75 minutes, STANDARD $460 for 200, PREMIUM $720 for 350 and PRO $1,170 for 600. | $2.60 a minute on BASIC down to $2.00 on PRO. The BASIC rate is the highest published per minute figure in this table, roughly 2.4 times the cheapest. | Not published on the pricing page, which matters more at this rate than at any other here. | States 100% live US based receptionists, 24/7/365. | No contracts or long term commitment, and no fees or penalties to upgrade, downgrade or cancel. Bilingual support is $20 a month and each extra script $20 a month. |
| Abby Connect Buyers who want one in house team rather than a distributed floor | A monthly bundle of minutes rather than a metered rate. | Essential, $329 a month for up to 100 minutes. Professional is $599 for up to 200 and Growth $1,380 for up to 500; over 1,000 minutes is quoted. A separate AI receptionist ladder starts at $99 a month after a 14 day free trial. | No overage rate is published. You can price the bundle but not the minute after it, which is the figure that decides a busy month. | Not published. | States an in house team at a Las Vegas, Nevada office rather than remote staff. | Neither a setup fee nor contract length is stated on the pricing page. Weekend answering is included and a HIPAA compliant option and Spanish answering are offered. |
| AnswerConnect Nothing we can assess, because the price is behind a form | Not published. | Not published. The plans page asks for a name, a company email and a phone number before it will show plans and pricing, so the cost of finding out the price is a sales call. | Not published. | Not published. | Not stated on the plans page. | Not published. Included here rather than dropped because a buyer comparing providers will meet this page, and knowing in advance which providers will not quote without your number is part of the comparison. |
What one call costs at each US answering service, by call length, 2026
Last updated
Every provider advertises a monthly plan; almost none tells you what a single call costs, which is the number that decides whether their model suits you. This table works it out from published rates and published billing increments, for three call lengths that bracket normal use.
Figures are derived, not quoted, and the derivation is simple enough to check: each provider's published overage rate applied to the stated call length, under that provider's own published billing increment. Rates read from each provider's pricing page on 15 August 2026 and cited in full below. We use the mid plan rate where a ladder exists (Specialty Answering Service 220 Minute at $1.44, Ambs Call Center 250 Minutes at $1.23, PATLive STANDARD at $2.20, Smith.ai Starter overage at $11.50) so the comparison is like for like rather than flattered by a volume tier nobody starts on. Where a provider publishes no overage rate or no increment, the cell says so instead of estimating: Abby Connect sells bundled minutes without publishing the rate beyond them, and AnswerConnect publishes nothing before a form. AnswerFirst is shown as a range because it publishes one. A call length is the metered period, which each provider defines in its contract rather than on its website.
| Provider | Charged by | 15 second call | 45 second call | 2 minute call | Billing increment |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Smith.ai | Per call | $11.50 | $11.50 | $11.50 | n/a, calls are not metered |
| Specialty Answering Service | Per minute | $0.36 | $1.08 | $2.88 | 1 second |
| Ambs Call Center | Per minute | $0.62 | $1.23 | $2.46 | 30 seconds, rounded up |
| AnswerFirst | Per minute | $0.40 to $0.49 | $1.20 to $1.46 | $3.20 to $3.90 | 1 second |
| PATLive | Per minute | $0.55 | $1.65 | $4.40 | not published |
| Abby Connect | Bundled minutes | not published | not published | not published | not published |
| AnswerConnect | Not published | not published | not published | not published | not published |
- Only one of seven US answering services compared, Smith.ai, bills per call rather than per minute.
- Published per minute rates span 2.4 times, from $1.09 a minute at Specialty Answering Service's 10,000 minute tier to $2.60 on PATLive's BASIC plan.
- Two of seven providers do not publish a usable price: AnswerConnect gates plans behind a form, and AnswerFirst publishes a per minute range but not its base monthly fee.
- Billing increments differ threefold in effect: metering a 45 second call to the second costs about $0.92 at $1.23 a minute, where rounding up to 30 second blocks costs $1.23.
- Only one of seven, Ambs Call Center at $85, publishes a one time setup fee.
Cite this page
“What one call costs at each US answering service, by call length, 2026”, Compare Answering, https://compareanswering.com/ (updated 2026-08-15). Figures are derived, not quoted, and the derivation is simple enough to check: each provider's published overage rate applied to the stated call length, under that provider's own published billing increment. Rates read from each provider's pricing page on 15 August 2026 and cited in full below. We use the mid plan rate where a ladder exists (Specialty Answering Service 220 Minute at $1.44, Ambs Call Center 250 Minutes at $1.23, PATLive STANDARD at $2.20, Smith.ai Starter overage at $11.50) so the comparison is like for like rather than flattered by a volume tier nobody starts on. Where a provider publishes no overage rate or no increment, the cell says so instead of estimating: Abby Connect sells bundled minutes without publishing the rate beyond them, and AnswerConnect publishes nothing before a form. AnswerFirst is shown as a range because it publishes one. A call length is the metered period, which each provider defines in its contract rather than on its website.
How we chose these, and how they are ordered
Every provider here answers business calls in the United States with live agents, and every figure was copied from the provider's own pricing page on 15 August 2026. Nothing is taken from a review site, a listicle or a press release.
Order runs by how completely the provider lets you price a call before you speak to anyone: per call pricing first because it is the query this page answers, then metered providers that publish both a rate and an increment, then those that publish a rate but no increment, then those that publish neither.
Two exclusions worth naming. VoiceNation is absent because voicenation.com/pricing now redirects to Moneypenny, which acquired it, and that page would not serve us a price to quote. A domain that ranked for answering service pricing turned out to be parked and for sale, so it is not a provider and is not listed.
What this table does not do is rank quality. It compares what each provider publishes about price, staffing and terms, which is checkable. Whether a given team represents your business well on the phone is not, and a two week trial answers it better than any table.
- Smith.ai Smith.ai, pricing
- Specialty Answering Service Specialty Answering Service, pricing
- Ambs Call Center Ambs Call Center, pricing
- AnswerFirst AnswerFirst, pricing
- PATLive PATLive, pricing
- Abby Connect Abby Connect, pricing
- AnswerConnect AnswerConnect, plans
Compare Answering is an independent site operated by Ellul Solutions Ltd. It is not affiliated with, endorsed by or connected to any answering service named here, and nothing on it is legal or contractual advice. We take no commission from any provider in this comparison and carry no paid placements. Prices, rates and terms change without notice: every figure carries the date we read it on the provider's own page, and the details that decide your bill, notably what counts as a chargeable call and what the billing increment is, are set by the contract rather than the website.
Want quotes from providers that fit your call pattern?
Tell us roughly how many calls you take a month and how long they run, and US answering services that suit that pattern will quote you directly. Call length is the question that decides the model, so it is the one we ask first.
Frequently asked
What is a pay per call answering service?
One that charges a fixed price for each call it answers, whatever the call's length, instead of metering the minutes. Of the seven US providers we compared on 15 August 2026, only Smith.ai prices this way: $300 a month for 30 calls on its Starter plan and $11.50 for each call above it. The other six bill by the minute or by a bundle of minutes, which is why the phrase turns up far more often in searches than it does on pricing pages.
Is paying per call cheaper than paying per minute?
It depends on one number, your average call length, and the crossover is a division you can do yourself. Smith.ai's $11.50 overage call against Specialty Answering Service's $1.44 a minute crosses over just under eight minutes: shorter calls are cheaper metered, longer ones cheaper per call. Against PATLive's $2.60 a minute BASIC rate the crossover falls to about four and a half minutes. Measure your own average from your phone log before choosing.
How much does a US answering service cost a month?
Published entry plans we could read on 15 August 2026 ranged from $44 a month with no minutes included, at Specialty Answering Service, to $329 for up to 100 minutes at Abby Connect. Between them sat PATLive at $75 pay as you go, Ambs Call Center at $149 for 100 minutes and Smith.ai at $300 for 30 calls. Two providers, AnswerConnect and AnswerFirst, do not publish a usable monthly figure at all.
Why do some answering services not publish prices?
The stated reason is usage based pricing. AnswerFirst's page says plainly that it is hard to show pricing online because the model is usage based, and publishes a $1.60 to $1.95 per minute range instead of a rate card. AnswerConnect asks for a name, company email and phone number before it will show plans and pricing at all. The practical effect either way is that the cost of finding out the price is a sales call.
What is a billing increment and why does it matter?
It is the smallest unit of time a provider will charge for. Specialty Answering Service and AnswerFirst meter to the second. Ambs Call Center calculates in 30 second increments and rounds up, so a 45 second call bills as a full minute, roughly a third more than the same call metered to the second. PATLive and Abby Connect do not publish an increment. On short calls this rule moves the bill more than the advertised rate does.
Are US answering service agents based in the US?
Several state so explicitly. PATLive states 100% live US based receptionists, Ambs Call Center states 100% U.S. based agents working from Jackson, Michigan and Tampa, Florida, Specialty Answering Service states USA based operators with 300 or more staff, and AnswerFirst states U.S. based representatives. Smith.ai states no overseas agents. Abby Connect states an in house team at a Las Vegas, Nevada office rather than remote staff.
Do answering services charge a setup fee?
Mostly not any more. Of the seven providers compared, only Ambs Call Center publishes one, at $85 one time. Smith.ai and Specialty Answering Service both state there is none. What is more common is charges sitting outside the headline rate: Specialty Answering Service publishes patching at $0.10 a minute and IVR at $0.15 a minute, and PATLive publishes bilingual support at $20 a month.
Guides
Every figure sourced and dated.
Pay per call vs per minute: which is cheaper for you
The two charging models cross over at a call length you can work out. Worked from published US answering service rates, with the crossover point for each provider.
Billing increments: the rule that changes your bill by a third
US answering services meter in one second or round up to 30 seconds. On short calls that difference is worth about a third of the bill, and most pricing pages bury it.
The charges that sit outside an answering service rate
Setup fees, patching, IVR, bilingual support and extra numbers are billed separately by US answering services. What each provider publishes, and what none do.
Sources
Compare the charging model, not the headline rate
Seven US answering services, which one truly bills per call, what each publishes about rates and rounding, and the two that will not quote until you hand over a phone number.